RSS

Did you know that Slash is black?

26 Aug

I soooo did not know that, but now that he said it, I can totally see it. LOL In the HBO thing, they showed a picture of Slash with his black mother and you can really see how much he looks like her. All those years of listening to Guns n’ Roses and I never knew there was a brotha in the band.

The fabulous folks over at HBO just premiered “The Black List: Volume One” as part of their summer documentary series. It’s HBO, so you know it’s fiyah. Basically it’s a bunch of famous and not so famous black people who have made big impacts in the world and they each have a few minutes to just kind of shoot the breeze about important moments in their lives and things that they find inspiring or interesting. Many (but definitely not all) of them take a rather humble approach to their extraordinary feats and give great praise to those who came before them and lots of hope for those after them.

Al Sharpton, Chris Rock and Keenan Ivory Wayans all had funny and insightful things to say. I felt like Toni Morrison was talking directly to me. I love her to pieces. The documentary was so simple, but very moving and thought provoking.

Anywho, if you don’t check out HBO, you need to start doing that. You’re missing out on the last bastion of consistently high quality television.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2008 in Black History, TV

 

Tags: , ,

24 responses to “Did you know that Slash is black?

  1. narmer

    August 26, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    The interviews were very insightful and fresh.

     
  2. embrownny

    August 26, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    There was so much on last night–between “The Closer,” Michelle Obama’s speech, the US Open, and this program on HBO I thank God for Tivo. I did get to see a portion of the show and really enjoyed the interviews I got to see.

     
  3. loveisdope

    August 27, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Yeah, HBO is dope. I wonder what a “Black in America”-type show would look like on HBO.

     
  4. tracey in Ohio

    August 28, 2008 at 10:51 am

    I would’ve NEVER known Slash was black. Is that man talented out his behind or what? (LOL!) Amazing…..

     
  5. thoughtsdaughter

    September 2, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Thank you for writing this – I was just passing through and was ABOUT to write a similar blog (cause most of my friends were clowning me for NOT knowing)! So if you don’t mind, I’ll link to your post because I sat here totally dumbfounded and he’s my FAVORITE guitarist. I guess I was just listening and not really looking!

     
  6. loveisdope

    September 2, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    My editor is the only person in my circle who knew Slash was a black man, so don’t feel bad about not knowing that. LOL I certainly don’t mind you linking to me. Thanks, lady! :)

     
  7. REDTAPE

    October 12, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    You’re a bit late, aren’t you? LOLZ!!! Am I the only person who thought it was obvious he was black? I’m doing research on the guy and I keep seeing stuff like this on the net.

     
  8. loveisdope

    October 12, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    I guess I am late. lol You’re the only person I’ve come across who thought it was obvious that he’s black.

     
  9. nusandman

    December 21, 2008 at 2:18 am

    I had no idea either until a few weeks ago when I saw he is featured in an African-American celebrities book.

     
  10. blackandproud

    January 13, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    yeah….he said axl rose wrote a song with the n word in it and he had to chee-in check dat azz! lol!

     
  11. loveisdope

    January 14, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Well, I don’t know how deep that beef really ran considering that the song was put out with the n-word still in it and Slash remained in the group afterwards.

     
  12. blackandproud

    January 16, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    whaaat!?? the n-word is still in the song? someone tell me what the title of the song is that he supposedly left the n-word in. i gotta hear that one.

     
  13. loveisdope

    January 16, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    It’s called “One in a Million.” Here are the lyrics.

    http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/gunsnroses/oneinamillion.html

     
  14. Ingrid

    June 12, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    I heard about this back in the ’80’s. A journalist wrote an article in Rolling Stone or somewhere about Guns N Roses using the “n” word in their songs and Slash being half black. If I’m not mistaken his father is jewish.

    I never, ever thought I’d live to see the day Slash would come out as black. In the ’80’s it seemed like he wasn’t owning up to it.

     
  15. Shayla

    July 30, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Lol I was looking at the November Rain video. . .looking at his hair blow in the wind and I was like. . .dudddde his hair looks like biracial hair! It’s all his! He’s gotta be half black dude.

     
  16. bam

    October 11, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    slash isnt half jewish he is half british and november rain is my favorite song

     
  17. loveisdope

    October 12, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    I think you are both correct. His dad was a Jew who lived in London.

    http://www.gibson.com/en-us/Lifestyle/Features/Slash_%20The%20Making%20of%20a%20Modern/

     
  18. lela

    May 24, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Slash is half English , his father is English not Jewish and he was born in England.

     
  19. lela

    May 24, 2010 at 8:06 am

    I noticed Slash was half black look at his hair lol.

     
  20. ricky hernandez

    August 30, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    hey,
    there is nothing wrong with being a black rocker.
    remember, blacks invented rock n roll.

     
  21. jada

    November 1, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    I know that Slash is black because that I`am i huge fan and i know all things about him and i new that hes mom was black and he`s dad is white so he is mixed

     
  22. Crystal

    June 5, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    Slash is so sexy, btw he’s half black and half white. Either way he’s gorgeous ! And amazingly talented

     
  23. why?

    October 17, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    He’s also white.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,573 other followers

