RSS

Miu Miu, Divorce and Beautiful Friends

08 Mar
Miu Miu, Divorce and Beautiful Friends

 

Miu Miu teamed up with award-winning Middle of Nowhere director Ava DuVernay for the fifth installment of their Women’s Tales series. It’s called “The Door” and it is beautiful. The short (less than 10 minutes) has no dialogue and centers on Gabrielle Union’s character who is a recent and very sad divorcée. I can of course relate to this seeing as how I’m going through my own divorce. (You can read about that over at XOJane.)

So, this particular short is very timely for me, but even if I were happily married or whatever, this would have still struck a cord with me. It really is beautifully done. It’s elegant, thoughtful. DuVernay includes some of my favorite actors. Adepero Oduye (who was nothing less than brilliant in Pariah), Emayatzy Corinealdi (star of DuVernay’s engaging Middle of Nowhere) and “Closer” singer Goapele all pop in as friends of Union, trying various means to get her to get out and enjoy life instead of spending all of her time in her OUTRAGEOUSLY gorgeous home. Did you see that white on white bedroom?? My word. Alfre Woodward makes an appearance as Union’s mother. Mamas always have gardens to tend to, don’t they?

But let’s not forget that this is a Miu Miu campaign and so of course the clothes are a prominent part of the direction, but not overpowering. DuVernay does a great job of incorporating the clothes without compromising the artistic integrity of the short itself. The clothes are fly and I love the end. Love it.

Union finally takes off her wedding ring and is able to put on these elbow-length gloves. She would not have been able to wear those gloves with her ring on and the gloves kind of complete the whole ensemble. She puts on the gloves, grabs her coat, puts on her sunglasses and presumably, heads out of “The Door.” Taking off the ring givers her the clearance, so to speak, of finally heading out into the world.

I can’t talk about “The Door” without talking about the music. The music producer Morgan Rhodes was right on the money. The music was as follows:

“Turn Your Lights On” by Emantive ft. Ahu

“Chameleon” by Dezaray Dawn

“Who Flew” and “Beyond” by P. Furey

“For Love” by Goapele

“Because” by Ra-Re Valverde

Besides being visually stunning and having an awesome soundtrack, “The Door” speaks to a core truth. Whatever we go through as individuals (and we are all guilty of sometimes being all caught up in or own feelings and not being able to see the forest for the trees), it is often our loved ones who bring us back to love, bring us back to reality.

As someone who is going through what this short depicts, I can say with certainty that my friends and family have been indispensable during this time. There are moments when I need to be reminded of who I am, which is a happy, in love with love, passionate, affectionate person.  Can’t let an unexpected turn take me off my square, son. Too cool for that. Too smart for that. Too present for that.

But back to the short, my favorite shot is towards the beginning when Gabrielle Union is on the couch and a solitary tear drips from her eye. (Side Note: Everybody’s face is BEAT in this! You hear me? Beat. Yes.) It’s a beautiful, quiet moment and it feels real.

I love it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2013 in Beauty/Fashion, Love

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Miu Miu, Divorce and Beautiful Friends

  1. thejadednyer

    March 8, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    1- I saw this a couple of weeks ago, sent it to EVERYONE I knew and then downloaded Goapele’s “Break of Dawn” CD because OH MY GOD that song was haunting me.

    2- Ditto on the faces being BEAT.

    3- Some of those outfits were TOO FLY!

    4- Have you seen DuVernay’s “I Will Follow”? Really good film; I highly recommend it. And your post made me look up “Middle of Nowhere”… I MUST SEE THIS ASAP! lol

    5- Sending e-hugs to you in this rough time. I’ve been through it and it’s not easy, but with the right support you’ll survive. xoxo

     
  2. Demetria Irwin

    March 8, 2013 at 11:36 pm

    TheJadedNyer!!! Thank you so much! You’re always such a fabu supporter. E-hugs!! I have not seen “I Will Follow,” but I shall.

    This love shit is not for the faint of heart, right? LOL But this is such a beautifully crafted piece of art. Lovely.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,552 other followers

