RSS

Artist’s Way2: Week 3

06 May
Artist’s Way2: Week 3
photo (8)

The awesome bracelet I bought that’s made from old typewriter keys.

Week 3 was kinda tough for me.  Some weeks I struggle with doing all of the morning pages and/or digging into the reading as opposed to zipping through it. This was one of those weeks. However, I still got a lot from it. As with anything, you can’t half-ass your way through this process and expect amazing results, so about midway through Week 3, I had to check myself and get back into this for real.

For me, that was the main “thing” from Week 3: getting my ish together. One particular quote from this week’s reading stood out from me. It’s from Goethe. He said “Whatever you think you can do or believe you can do, begin it. Action has magic, grace and power in it.”  Slow clap for that one.  Well said.

My Artist Date ended up  being a trip to the Green Festival at the Jacob Javits Center here in New York. The event featured tons of vendors offering eco-friendly products. There was everything from body butters to paper made from elephant poo to vegan desserts.

I picked up a couple things, but my favorite was a bracelet made out of old typewriter keys. Very fitting for a writer, no? It was great to be surrounded by all those out-of-the-box thinkers. The place was full of creative and entrepreneurial energy. Another awesome week in the Artist’s Way process.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2013 in Creativity, Writerly Things

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Artist’s Way2: Week 3

  1. ladyj1980

    May 14, 2013 at 12:28 am

    What a great quote! I must say “following” you on your journey has led me to consider doing the same as I struggle with my dissertation. People say it’s not a creative piece of prose per se but whatever I end up with, I feel it needs to have life. I think I actually have this book in a box upstairs but haven’t read it (I know, for shame) but maybe I will now. Thanks for sharing.

     
  2. Demetria Irwin

    May 14, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    Hey there! Thanks for keeping up with my Artist’s Way journey! Creativity comes in many forms and that includes academic writing. Best wishes to you on your dissertation and get that Artist’s Way book out of that dusty old box. ;)

     
  3. Alton

    June 1, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    We are a group of volunteers and opening
    a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with valuable
    information to work on. You have done a formidable job and our
    entire community will be grateful to you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,391 other followers

