RSS

Labor(s) of Love

05 Oct
Labor(s) of Love
The current hair situation.

The current hair situation.

The Diana Ross level afro I used to have. Growing it back to this level of awesomeness.

The Diana Ross level afro I used to have. Growing it back to this level of awesomeness.

Do you do loving things for yourself? I do. People who know me in real life (or if you follow my Instagram feed) know that I’m living that TWA life right now. My teenie weenie afro has been the move for a little over two years now. I LOVE my little fro. You hear me?? (in a De’Juan voice) Seriously. I love my hair in general, whether it’s long, straight, curly, big, short or whatever. My tresses and I have a passion thing going on.  But I recently decided that it’s time for me to grow my big glamorous Diana Ross afro one mo’ gin. I miss that gigantic ebony cloud of goddessness.

When I related my desire to grow out my hair again, a dude friend expressed his frustration with longer hair. He recently cut off his long locks in favor of a quirkier, shorter look because he was tired of the maintenance associated with longer hair.  I told him that I considered my big hair look a labor of love. And baby, a labor of love it is. My hair is strong and gorgeous and adamant. Kinda like me and my fellow sisters of various hues with voluminous hair.

That conversation made me think of the other things I do for me. I love to take care of my hair because it’s literally a part of me and it feels good to put good smelling things in my hair and accentuate its awesomeness. I also love to do other things for me. Such as:

Nails
I generally, do my nails once a week, usually on Sunday nights. Instagram follows pretty faithfully my weekly venture into the finger friendly visual arts and I also have a Pinterest board on the same subject. It’s just something fun for me to do. If I didn’t do a traditional four year college and all that, I definitely would have done beauty school. I do my own hair too.  I’ve cut and maintained my own hair for like a decade and I am NICE with the clippers. Nice. And it’s just so fun to come up with different things to do. Such a rush when someone asks where I get my nails done!

Body
I started using face products from Freeman Beauty’s Eclos line a few weeks ago and people have actually noticed a difference! My esthetician and two dude friends told me that my skin was “glowing.”  Mind you (and this is not to brag), I’ve never had big skin issues as a kid or as an adult. But, once I started using the cleanser (with cold water instead of the warm water that is suggested) and the night cream, I got really positive feedback.  I got the products via Klout and I’m very happy with the results. It wasn’t all rosy though. The SPF moisturizer didn’t do well with me. It made my normally radiant skin look ashen and never blended in well, but the cleanser and the night cream are boss. I would def recommend those. Also, I exfoliate my whole body once a week with a salt scrub. Makes me skin all awesome. And I love, love, LOVE my Ugandan shea butter from Sheaterra Organics.  Stumbled upon them at a festival for green products.

Food
I can burn. My mac n’ cheese is dumb, I’m really good at baking desserts and my first try at veggie lasagna a couple weeks ago went over quite while with some tough critics. I really, really enjoy feeding myself delicious things. There’s something extra gratifying about a tasty meal coming from my own hands. Made with love and good intentions. I loathe grocery shopping though. I really do. But I make my weekly trek to my favorite spot for fresh fish, veggies and fruit (living that pescetarian life) and It feels good to nourish myself. On the occasion when I share my goodies, I love those “Mmmms” and thumbs up I get from folks. And by the way, even though I don’t eat it anymore, my fried chicken is still better than yo mama’s fried chicken.

In short, I like to take care of myself. What do you do to let you know that you love you?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2013 in Beauty/Fashion, Love

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Labor(s) of Love

  1. detroitwillow

    October 6, 2013 at 5:03 am

    Better than my mamma’s? Hmmph!

     
  2. Demetria Irwin

    October 6, 2013 at 11:31 am

    @DetroitWillow Well, I didn’t mention any names. ;)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,552 other followers

