RSS

Writing Prompt: Describe Being a Writer

05 Dec
Writing Prompt: Describe Being a Writer

1456594_10151822977046336_1585467513_n

 

Writer’s Relief posted the above picture on Facebook with the following caption: “Describe being a ‪#‎writer‬ without using the words ‘writer,’ ‘write,’ or ‘words.’ ‪#‎writingprompt‬ ‪#‎writinglife‬.” I’m always down for a good writing prompt, so I decided to share my (short) response here.

A somber-looking stranger on the train. The bewitching pre-dawn hours while alone at my desk. A long-abandoned building with “beautiful bones”  observed during a walk in the neighborhood. Any and all of these things could be the catalyst for my muse to alight upon my shoulder and whisper into my ear.  My mind starts churning, thoughts fill my head beyond capacity and I must (no, I really must) transfer those thoughts to page or screen. Sometimes those penned or keyboarded thoughts make it to a wider audience than my own two eyes.  In some bizarre corner of the universe, a company or a person will pay me for the privilege of baring my soul/art/modestly dressed thoughts to the masses.  It is then that my strokes and clicks are subject to the whims of a fickle public.

It’s a blessing and a curse.  Like Badu said, “I’m an artist and I’m sensitive about my shit.”  All good though. I’m always flabbergasted that anyone is interested in anything I have to say, much less pay for it. I’m grateful.

 
 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Writing Prompt: Describe Being a Writer

  1. Creative Metaphor

    December 5, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    Reblogged this on Creative Metaphor and commented:
    To dream about what isn’t and make it real; to see what is through a lens of what should be, or perhaps what should never be. To paint an image in your mind and weave invisible threads into your feelings to tug and tease at will.
    To be blindness for the sighted, poorness to the rich, womanhood to the man; to impart an experience through a commonality which diverges and takes you with it to places you never thought possible. To make sacred the mundane and make known the hidden. To whisper in your ear of how good a sunset tastes at dawn and breathe in the waters of life and death and see which one I become. To be a bridge, to bear your weight as you tread across my back and see what I’ve carved into my hands for you.
    And at the last to bare my soul and let you step inside me for just a moment to see the world through my eyes, and in doing so, to see the world through another’s eyes as well.

     
  2. Demetria Irwin

    December 6, 2013 at 8:57 am

    GREAT response @Creative Metaphor!! Bravo!

     
  3. Creative Metaphor

    December 9, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    *blushy* oh, thank you! :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,436 other followers

