RSS

Artist’s Way 3: Week 3

22 Apr
Artist’s Way 3: Week 3

photo (10)

Week 3 is all about recovering a sense of power.  Good stuff here. Cameron talked quite a bit about anger and how to use anger in a positive way. I got angry a couple times in the past couple weeks and I expressed that anger in such a way that I had to apologize to the folks on the receiving end. So, it happens.

One quote from this weeks’ reading that I really enjoyed was from Goethe. It reads: “Whatever you think you can do or believe you can do, begin it. Action has magic, grace and power in it.”  Well said. Or like Nike said, “Just do it.” You’ll never do “it” if you don’t make that first step no matter how tentative it is.

For this week’s Artist Date, I attempted to go and buy a new notebook and some new pens, but my mission ended up a failure because I embarked on said adventure on Easter Sunday and stuff closed early. Womp, womp. So, my Artist Date became the walk there and back. The picture above is from my travels. Reminds me of a song from my adolescence. “The red, the black and the green. With the key…”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 22, 2014 in Creativity, Writerly Things

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Artist’s Way 3: Week 3

  1. nicole, lady buddha

    April 22, 2014 at 10:21 pm

    Ha. I blogged about the Goethe quote this week myself (http://cocostudio.com/in-the-home-stretch/). It has long been one of my faves, but apparently it’s not actually written by Goethe.

    My SO got caught out there in the early to close/never opened stores on Sunday too. The notebook and pens sound wonderful.

    This is totally random, but b/c I’m an evangelist for Pearl Cleage’s new book, something about what you wrote made me want to suggest it to you. Have you gotten it? Things I Should Have Told My Daughter? Maybe it was the power… I dunno. Rambling for no good reason. Signing off. lol.

    Still enjoying your journey. I was distressed when I was last home and COMPLETELY forgot to look for my Artist’s Way book. I won’t be there for a few more days again, but I’ll look for it.

     
  2. Demetria Irwin

    April 23, 2014 at 12:40 am

    Hi there Nicole! Well, I like that Goethe-like quote regardless. Haha! I have not picked up Cleage’s book yet, BUT it is on my to-read list. I shall read it in the next few weeks. Thanks for the reminder!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,553 other followers

