RSS

Are e-Book readers the new Betamax? I hope not.

05 Dec

I hope not. I have a lot of books…like, a lot of books and I am open to trying out this e-book thing, but I don’t want it to be a total waste. E-books have been around for a long time and a lot of the newer smarthphones and other handhelds can hold e-books. But there are some dedicated e-book readers like Sony’s new Digital Reader and Amazon’s Kindle too. They are both about the size of a regular paperback book. But the Sony Digital Reader is super thin and it can hold hundreds of books. Plus you can use memory cards.

It sounds lovely and all, but I don’t want to buy it and then its all Betamax-like. Do you remember Beta? It was supposed to replace VHS in the 80’s and it just never really took off. I think I might try it out. Worse thing that could happen is that they stop making e-books and I’ll have a random little gadget that would be my only way of reading however many e-books I buy. If I buy it, I’ll let you know how it turns out.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 5, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
