RSS

Morning Songs

28 Jun

brain

I have a bunch of playlists on my iPod. I have Jams, Naked (you figure out what that’s for), Home (for chillaxin’, cleaning up or just generally laying up in the crib) and a bunch of other ones too. One of the most important playlists is Morning. This list contains the songs that get me going in the morning. They are generally mid to fast tempo songs (couple slow ones in there though) with uplifting, encouraging or just plain positive messages. I like to pick songs apart, so I really appreciate quality songwriting. At the same time though, sometimes I just want to hear a happy fun song. “She Wants To Move” is one of my favorite songs to listen to when I walk to work. In college, I used to listen to Pac’s “Ambitionz Az A Ridah” on mornings that I had big exams. Depends on my mood I guess. Sometimes I need a little gangsta in the morning and sometimes I need a little gospel.

All that said, a few of the songs from my list are below in no particular order. Like with my Summer Songs post, I’ve linked to videos when I could find them. This is actually a pretty good peek into my brain. What are some of your favorite songs to listen to in the morning? Comments on my selections? I’m sure there will be a WTF or two.

1. Let The Praise Begin Fred Hammond

2. Don’t You Worry ‘Bout A Thing– Stevie Wonder

3. So Far To Go– J Dilla, Common and D’Angelo

4. She Wants To Move– N.E.R.D

5. Outstanding– The Gap Band

6. Old Times Sake– Sweet Sable

7. Flashlight Parliament Funkadelic

8. Optimistic Sounds of Blackness

9. Brown Skin Lady– Mos Def and Talib Kweli

10. The World Is Yours– Nas

11. Golden– Jill Scott

12. Jamming– Bob Marley

13. She’s A Bad Mama Jama– Carl Carlton

14. Yo (Excuse Me Miss) Chris Brown

15. September– Earth, Wind and Fire

16. Hip Hop Dead Prez

17. Just Like Water– Lauryn Hill

18. Kiss You Back– Digital Underground

19. Go Common feat. Kayne West and John Mayer

20. Closer Goapele

21. Pretty Please (Love Me)– Estelle feat. Cee-lo

22. Dance, Dance– Fall Out Boy

23. Clothes Off– Gym Class Heroes

24. ABC- Jackson 5

25. Champion– Kanye West

26. Find A Way Dwele

27. 4-ever– Lil’ Mo feat Fabolous

28. Rising Up The Roots

29. For Once In My Life– Stevie Wonder

30. She Lives in My Lap– Andre 3000

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 28, 2008 in Love

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
