RSS

Fiction Fixation: “Flow” (Part 3 of 3)

25 Jul

Ready for the conclusion of “Flow”? Make sure you read Part One and Part Two first. Alright, let’s go….

“Everybody get on the mothafuckin’ floor! Ya’ll mothafuckas gettin’ robbed!”

I turned towards the door and saw two men with nine-millimeter guns. They both had on black ski masks. One had on a green shirt and the other had on a red shirt. Cal pulled me under the table before I could see anything else. He held me close and put his finger to his lips. My heart was beating so hard I was afraid it would burst.

Cal relaxed his grip a little and I took the opportunity to peak from under the table to see what was going on. I saw the red one grab the waitress and force her to open the cash register. While she was doing that, he held his gun to her head and barked to the cook and busboy in the kitchen to come out front. The green one saw my head poking out and rushed in our direction. Before I could even begin to think of a plan, the green thug snatched me from underneath the table. He pulled me up by my elbow and turned me so that my back was towards the front door. He pointed his gun right between my eyes.

“Alright bitch, empty your purse on the floor right now!”

I did exactly as I was told. I carried my clutch purse that night so there wasn’t much in it. My make up compact, lipstick and ink pens clattered to the floor. I pulled out my Metro Card and my lone dollar too and they floated to the ground.

“I know you got more than a dollar. You betta give me all yo’ shit, now! I ain’t got time for this bullshit! I see your little boyfriend hiding up under the table like a little bitch. Tell him not to try nothin’ stupid or I’m gone have to bust a cap in both ya’ll asses.”

I tried to explain that I didn’t have any more money, but before I could get a word out, he punched me in the nose and I fell on my back. It felt like a hot skillet just slammed into my face. Instantly blood spilled down my checks and onto the floor. I was still reeling from the impact when I heard a loud commotion and looked up just in time to see Cal wrestling with the green thug for the gun. Cal had about three inches and 50 pounds on the green thug, so it actually didn’t take too long for Cal to get the gun out of the his hands. The gun slid in my direction so I rolled over and desperately grabbed for it. Just as I felt the hot, sweaty metal in my palm, the red thug ran over in our direction.

By that time Cal and the green thug were all out fighting. The green thug yelled to the red thug to shoot Cal. I grabbed the gun in both hands, spun to towards the red thug, and pulled the trigger. The red thug’s chest exploded and blood spattered on my face and even got into my mouth. It tasted like a salty penny had melted on my tongue. Cal and the green thug stared at me, frozen in mid-blows. The green thug regained his composure first and made a run for the door.

It all happened so fast. I didn’t want to kill him, but I didn’t want him to get away either. I let him get a little past me and I shot him in the back of the knee, basically at point blank range. He yelped in pain and crumpled to the ground. I slowly put the gun on the floor. Sirens and lights invaded my senses. Cal lifted me up from behind and led me towards the door.

“Like I was saying…thank you, Ru.”

I never thought I could kill someone, but then again I never thought I would meet Prince Charming either.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2008 in Fiction, Love, Reading

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Fiction Fixation: “Flow” (Part 3 of 3)

  1. marla

    July 25, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    ok, so you KNOW you can’t just leave us hanging like this! i’ll be expecting a part 4 very, very, very soon…monday would be great! 🙂 seriously, good work Demetria!

     
  2. embrownny

    July 25, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Wow… what a twist. So much for a romantic, spontaneous first date. I was totally not expecting Ruby to be the “hero.” Great job!

     
  3. loveisdope

    July 25, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Marla- Thanks! My sister suggested that I turn this story into a novel. I’m already working on something else though, not sure if I’ll be expanding this or not. I kinda like it as a short story, I think.

    EmBrownNY- Thank you! When I was writing it, I just decided I didn’t want to do the expected romantic storyline. Nothing like a little poetry, food and gun slinging for a first date. LOL

     

Leave a Reply

 
