RSS

Heavy Rotation: Esperanza Spalding

05 Aug

This is the stuff (new or old) that is getting heavy rotation in my iPod right now. Check it.

The Album: I was introduced to the music of Esperanza Spalding at a Roots concert in Philly back in June. She is a vocalist, bassist and composer whose music truly transcends musical categories. She is jazz, classical, Brazilian, African, soul and a whole bunch of other stuff that adds up to gorgeous music streaming into your ears. She talks about a lot of things to do with the human condition, love not the least among them, and she does so over a wide range of beautiful rhythms. The album, Esperanza, is one of those rare gems you can listen to from beginning to end without skipping over anything.

Favorite Tracks: This whole album really is a beast, but at the moment, my favorite tracks are “I Know You Know,” “I Adore You” and “She Got to You.” All three are just gushing with passion and excellent writing. The end of “I Adore You” ends with this African drum sequence that is so perfect and in a way, unexpected. Some songs like “Ponta de Areia” are not even in English (she speaks several languages), but I’ll be damned if you don’t feel the energy just the same.

If you like ___you might like Esperanza too: Erykah Badu, Les Nubians, Corinne Bailey Rae, Hugh Masekela

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Heavy Rotation: Esperanza Spalding

  1. vivrant thang

    August 5, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Where you at The Roots Picnic too? I was loving her! I can’t believe she’s a professor as well!

     
  2. loveisdope

    August 5, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Yeah, I was in that 100 degree heat out there at that dang ol’ picnic. LOL That’s another reason I was really impressed with her. It was boiling hot outside and she was still rockin with her fro in its full glory. My fro is a little big bigger than hers, so I KNOW that it’s ignant hot under all that hair. She got extra points from me just for that. LOL But yeah, she seems to have the whole package…talented, smart and beautiful. Love her! I listen to her album everyday.

     
  3. mschitchat

    August 5, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    nice… i would love to add another artist to the rostrum. i love erykah badu. just saw her last night in brooklyn.

     
  4. loveisdope

    August 6, 2008 at 10:37 am

    I missed the Erykah Badu show. I heard it was really though. You know who’s untouchable live, though? Ms. Jill Scott. Saw her live over the weekend. MAN! She’s the truth.

     

Leave a Reply

 
