RSS

Sex, Lies and Older Guys

20 Aug

The Neighborhood Service Organization in Detroit held a forum for teenage girls called “Sex, Lies and Older Guys” and it was a confessional of sorts for the girls to pour out their honest thoughts, opinions and experiences. SCARY! A lot of the girls, who were just 13-16 years old, were already in the double digits in terms of sexual partners, most of those girls couldn’t even name the guys and some were “dating” men twice their age.

Alright, I’m no prude or anything.  I’m totally aware that teenagers experiment with sex. The crew I rolled with in high school ranged from committed  virgin to rather experienced vixen (enough to make for interesting lunchtime stories anyway). But a double digit sex partner tally and you’re not even out of high school? That is insane. Not to mention the fact that a lot of the girls couldn’t even name the guys. Poor babies. Sex has become the equivalent of doing a new dance and these girls clearly do not have enough guidance at home.

Bill Cosby actually showed up to give the girls a few words of wisdom and there were mental health professionals on hand as well. Say what you will about Cosby, but at least he is willing to put in the effort to spread what he believes to be the truth. Big up to the Neighborhood Service Organization for putting that forum together. I have nieces and nephews and cousins in Detroit and I’ll definitely be looking into what else they have to offer.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2008 in Detroit, Love

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Sex, Lies and Older Guys

  1. tracey in Ohio

    August 20, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Howdy! I give big ups to the organization AND to Mr. Cosby. When everyone was coming down on Bill, I stood w/him cause he was doing nothing but telling the straight, natural born, scary truth. Isn’t it frightening what the stats are on these young girls? I have a 17 year old great niece who had done more “socially” by the time she was 13 than I could ever do in my life! A lot of it was hidden from the rest of the fam by her mom(my niece) & my older sister (her grandmother). Yes, they are poor babies because they think sex is the key to everything. Good post!

     
  2. loveisdope

    August 21, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Hey there! Thanks! Yeah, I think people have been more upset with Cosby about his delivery more than the message itself. He talks a lot about personal responsibility and being a good parent and I think most people agree with those things, but they didn’t appreciate “Cliff” literally wagging his finger at them. LOL I wonder what Jesse Jackson has had to say behind closed doors about Cosby!

    I hope your great niece finds her way. I have teenage nieces and nephews and I’m trying to help show them things that are outside of their immediate neighborhood. You just never know what might kickstart a kid’s journey onto a more productive path.

     

Leave a Reply

 
