RSS

Seven years later

11 Sep

It’s been seven years since September 11 turned everything upside down. The world is still a very scary place right now and I’m not sure that many Americans feel a whole lot safer than they did on that day. There’s still nothing to visit at Ground Zero. It’s basically a big construction pit. There’s a push to get things done by the 10th anniversary, but we’ll see if that happens.

I was fortunate to not have any family or friends involved in the tragedy on 9/11, but I know plenty of people who did and my heart still aches thinking about how thousands of lives were instantly and concretely changed on that day. The effect of 9/11 was felt all over the globe, but to actually lose a husband, wife, child, mother, fiance, friend or whatever in that way is just beyond words.

Peace to all of you who mourn that day.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2008 in Love, Religion/Spirituality

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Seven years later

  1. tracey in Ohio

    September 11, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Howdy! This was a lovely post as a tribute to everyone who lost someone. Ironically, on that day, I was @ the prosecutor’s office battling out stupid crap w/my neighbor only to come home @ 9:30 a.m.& find New York & D.C. on fire. I thought it was a movie at first!! It made everything w/my neighbor seem so stupid suddenly. And I agree – the world is just as ‘willy-nilly’ today as it was that day which is extremely unsettling. But I can hardly watch anymore of it on TV without becoming totally consumed & teary. I had to leave for work this morning before I started getting weepy. May God comfort all who’s remembering & hurting.

     
  2. loveisdope

    September 11, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    Hey! Thanks, lady. 🙂 I can’t stand to watch all those tributes and stuff all day either. I had to do some anniversary related stuff for work, but other than that….my tv is off and I’m just going to write and read and maybe watch something goofy later. I can’t sit and watch that stuff all day.

    I did get my Obama policy book in the mail today, “Change We Can Believe In,” so maybe I’ll start reading that.

     

Leave a Reply

 
