RSS

Splittin’ and co-hittin’ that

07 Oct

Am I the only person who does not find Tracy Morgan to be all that funny? He hosted VH1’s 5th Annual Hip Hop Honors and I don’t think I laughed at any of his jokes…like not one. No, I’m lying. I did chuckle a couple times during the Queen Latifah skit.

Anywho, I was most looking forward to the De La Soul, Slick Rick and Naughty By Nature performances. All three were good too. Joy Bryant talked about how everyone remembers when they first fell in love with hip hop. I have no such moment. I was born into the hip hop culture. There is no “falling in love” with something that is always there from your first breath (part of the air, actually), ya know. But I do recall that Slick Rick was the first artist that I really really liked and understood, so it was good to see him. De La Soul put on a good show too, but I think Naughty By Nature really turned it out. You can see that Treach is still hungry for the mic. I think he appreciated being last on the line-up and really put some energy into his set.

The Too Short performance was not all that great. I think that is mostly because a 2008 New York audience is just not too up on my man Short Dog. Cypress Hill was good though. Overall, the show was pretty entertaining…not great, but entertaining. I was glad to see  Gym Class Heroes (TRAVIE!) performing on the Cypress Hill Tribute.  Looking forward to  next year’s show!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2008 in TV

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Splittin’ and co-hittin’ that

  1. Renée Raddick, Esq.

    October 7, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    I think Short’s performance was a bit blah because he cannot do the majority of his songs on regular TV!

     
  2. loveisdope

    October 7, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    LOL! That’s true! Most of his songs would have too many bleeps to be even remotely acceptable for basic cable. I know I was boppin’ my head to “Cocktales” back in the day (So inappropriate!) and that is definitely not suitable for VH1. LOL

     

Leave a Reply

 
