RSS

Good Morning, Sunshine

04 Nov

Remember today. Take a picture of yourself. Write a little note about your feelings. Your kids, grandkids and great-grandkids will want to know what you were doing when this country was in the midst of a historic election. You all already know I’m for Obama all day and if the polls are even  remotely correct, it looks like the majority of American voters are on his team too. But whoever you’re rooting for (I see you Green Party!), take it all in and be proud of a country that has a black man as a major party candidate for president.

Many of this country’s founding fathers were slave owners. Some of the very people who wrote the most eloquent and idealistic founding documents for any country on this planet were not opposed to owning other human beings. Slavery wasn’t that long ago in the grand scheme of things–same for sharecropping, Jim Crow, rampant lynching and many other atrocities. How wonderful to be alive at this particular point in time to witness this. I am truly excited for this day. Now stop reading this blog and go vote.

OBAMA, BABY!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Good Morning, Sunshine

  1. tracey in Ohio

    November 4, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Howdy! I, too, am very excited, anxious & antsy & I did write in my journal this a.m. before work – nothing big – just noting how I felt…. excited, anxious & antsy just thinking about the Obamas being in the White House! I’m so glad my 97 year old godmother is alive to see this & I’m so glad Obama’s granny got to see him this far.

     
  2. sdg1844

    November 4, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    What a day. I’ll be putting some thoughts down at the end of the day. I just want to take this all in. I voted and I feel like a kid on X-mas eve. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
