RSS

Book Review: A Mercy by Toni Morrison

17 Dec

mercy

Toni Morrison is just amazing. If you loved “Beloved,” you will love “A Mercy” as well. Her latest book is set during slavery times in the south and follows the lives of characters who seem to occupy very different stations in life, but none-the-less play important roles in eachother’s lives. Morrison is a writer’s writer. There are so many beautiful passages in this book where the writing is just exquisitely good. For example, there’s one part where she talks about a man’s back looking very sexy as it is glistening with sweat while he works. However, she doesn’t say that. Instead she says “You probably don’t even know anything at all about what your back looks like whatever the sky holds: sunlight, moonrise. I rest there. My hand, my eyes my mouth.” Her writing is so emotionally decadent and personal. I love it.

You could fill up an entire semester of a class just talking about the way she goes in and out of first person narration and hops around in time while somehow still having a cohesive storyline. Morrison is without a doubt a literary genius. This book is definitely worth a read and a re-read.

Editor’s Note: This review is actually on my Good Reads profile. Are you on Good Reads? You should be! Join and add me as a friend. You can follow along with me as I add book reviews. I’m always reading something and I rarely post book reviews on my blog. Anywho, one thing I didn’t put on my Good Reads review is that I had the pleasure of meeting Toni Morrison at a book signing for “A Mercy” last month and I got to tell her how fabulous I think she is and how “The Bluest Eye” was the first novel I ever read. Love her.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2008 in Love, Reading

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Book Review: A Mercy by Toni Morrison

  1. jaxthoughts

    December 18, 2008 at 2:34 am

    Thanks for the review. I bought the book the day it came out, but I haven’t started it yet. I, too, started with The Bluest Eye. Toni Morrison is indeed a literary genius.

     
  2. loveisdope

    December 18, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Hi there! This book is short AND its a quick read, so you’ll fly through it once you start. Thanks for stopping by!

     
  3. embrownny

    December 23, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Thanks for the review. I should go out and buy this to read while on vacation. I’ve read a few books by Toni Morrison–my first being “Paradise.” I read “The Bluest Eye” for a literature class a few semesters ago. That is a deep story. And I agree, Toni is a literary genius–truly one of the greats.

    Also, thanks for the heads up on Good Reads.

     

Leave a Reply

 
