RSS

Sunday Ritual

12 Apr

my_hair1

I’m a firm believer in taking good care of yourself. Us women-folk are often charged with taking care of kids, husbands, parents, bosses and everyone else under the sun, but we have to make sure we are okay too.  If you don’t value yourself enough  to do the little/basic  things for yourself, why should anyone else, right? Well, one thing I do for myself is my Sunday ritual. I take time at the end of the day to do a number of self-honoring things. Check it.

Happy Hair
That’s me in the picture above and as you see I have a big fluffy mane of hair. I’ve been relaxer-less for about 10 years and in that time, I’ve learned that one of the most important parts of my hair routine is picking a good deep conditioner. I use a few different ones  throughout the week, but I save the fancy, expensive one for Sundays.  My hair so loves that.

Smooooth Butta Soft Skin
I don’t believe in exfoliation everyday, so I save my salt scrub for Sundays. My skin is so soft and supple when I’m done! I use body butter every single day, so of course I use  it on Sundays too. I also get rid of all unwanted hair. I go to the spa regularly for waxing, but in-between those visits, I take of all of that myself as needed.

Elegant and Fun Man/Pedi
I like to keep my feet sandal-ready at all times (my husband thinks I have some kind of foot fetish, but I don’t), so that means breaking out my foot spa and pumice stones and what not. I have a bunch of  different nail polish colors from cherry red to deep plum to shimmery bronze. Depends on my mood which color I choose. As far as fingernails, I like either a regular French manicure or just clear polish. I rarely have someone else do my mani/pedi. I’ve gotten really good at it, I enjoy doing it and I save a few bucks. Bonus!

So, that’s basically the run-down of my Sunday ritual as far as pampering myself. It puts me in a good mood to start my Monday feeling refreshed and relaxed. I’m trying to get back into evening yoga too. I already do yoga every morning. Organization is also a big help to starting the week off right. A clean desk and an up-to-date calendar are on my to-do’s before bed.

Do you have a ritual for  yourself? What do you do?

 
13 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2009 in Beauty/Fashion, Love

 

13 responses to “Sunday Ritual

  1. tracey in Ohio

    April 15, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Hey there! I’m late on seeing this; just wanted to say what great rituals you have for yourself! It can really make a difference on how you feel starting your week. You hair is fab & looks in great condition. I used to really stay on top of myself (ritual-wise), but have somewhat let it fall by the wayside. Thanks for reminding us how important it is to be good to ourselves like this.

     
  2. loveisdope

    April 15, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Hey lady! Haven’t “seen” you in a minute. 🙂 Thanks for the kind words. We all have to make sure we take care of ourselves and feel good….especially when it’s time to tackle those Mondays.

     
  3. MsKnowitAll

    April 28, 2009 at 10:49 am

    I’m a little late in commenting…

    But I do have a ritual day. It’s called Touch Myself Tuesdays. LOL

    Every Tuesday I come home from work and do nothing but run bath water where I soak my troubles away.

    I scrub the dead skin from my feets and toes and shave the body if necessary.

    I usually exfoliate and rub up with pure Shea Butter.

    I don’t turn on the TV or radio.

    I curl up in the bed with a good book where I will read for hours.

    If the Closer is in season, I may tune in at 9:00. Otherwise Tuesdays are my early tuck in days.

     
  4. loveisdope

    April 29, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    Touch Myself Tuesdays, huh? I was thinking I was gonna have to edit your post for a minute. LOL

     
  5. natasha

    June 11, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    This is great. I know I’m reeeally late.

    But better late then never. LOL. I don’t have a ritual at this point but I’ve noticed that i’ve been taking care of myself more. I’ve also gotten very good at manis/pedis. I’ve also been wearing my hair naturally curly more instead of blowing it out and my natural wave pattern is coming out more.

    Which deep conditioners have you been using?

     
  6. loveisdope

    June 11, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    I use different stuff all the time, but currently I’ve been using L’Oreal’s Vive Pro Hydra Gloss conditioner, Hollywood Beauty’s Carrot Cholesterol and the Olive Oil Cholesterol and KeraCare’s Humecto Creme Conditioner. The KeraCare is an EXCELLENT detangler. The expensive deep conditioner I use is Ojon’s Restorative Hair Treatment. It’s like $55 for a five ounce jar though, which is why it is not my regular conditioner. LOL It’s the truth though.

     
  7. natasha

    June 11, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    I have heard of Ojon but haven’t used it. I used Terax before and it was great. I try to get the samples of the really expensive products before I use them. I have two inexpensive conditioners, one from DR and one from Israel that work great.

     
  8. Star

    October 23, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Hey. I was just on clutch and saw your article about Common Questions you receive about your hair. So I had to click the link to see your hair. I am currently relaxed and have always been since I was young( I’m 24). I’m just a bit over it now though because I’m starting to learn more about healthy hair and just healthy living period. So I wanted to know how long it took for you to grow out the relaxer? What are the steps for this process? I know it has to be a different feeling the first time around, not rushing to get a perm. Thanks!

     
  9. loveisdope

    October 24, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    Hi Star! Well, everybody’s journey is a bit different and my hair grows really fast too. I had long hair when I decided to grow out the relaxer. I didn’t do the big chop (at that time), I just grew it out and kept it in buns and ponytails mostly. Kept my hair moisturized and I occasionally flat ironed it. Of course, I was trimming my hair as I went along, just like I would do normally. It’s kinda hard to say how long it took to grow the relaxer out completely because I was constantly growing and trimming. I can say though, that about a little over a year after I stopped getting relaxers I had a full head of unrelaxed hair. Did it take a year to grow out completely? I don’t know, but at the one-year mark, I remember that the relaxer was gone. At that point, I cut all my hair off and had a twa (teenie weenie afro) for several years. Just trimmed it basically everyday and kept it moisturized. Super low maintenance and super cute. 🙂 I started growing my hair out again about 4-5 years ago and so now I’m back to the big fluff of hair.

    Best wishes on your hair journey!

     
  10. Star

    October 25, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    Thanks for the reply and info. Now I know what I can start doing to get to where you are with your hair. 🙂

     
  11. Nita

    November 3, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    I think your hair was beautiful. You give inspire me because I have decided to grow my short hair long without my usual relaxer. Though I have been discouraged I’m going to hang in there.

     
  12. loveisdope

    November 4, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    Thank you, Nita! Why did people discourage you? That’s not cool! Best wishes to you on your hair journey. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
