RSS

Artist’s Way: Week One

08 Jun

Bracelet

So, I just finished up my first week of the Artist’s Way process. You might remember I spoke about this book a couple weeks ago on here.  In short, the book is basically a 12-week course that is supposed to help you maximize your full creative potential. This is achieved through writing everyday (even if you’re not a “writer”), doing various assignments and going on artist dates with yourself once a week.  I’m not going to talk about every single thing in the book, but every Monday, I’ll give you a run-down of my thoughts of the process. A number of my creative friends have read this book, so I figured I’d give it the ol’ college try.

Week One was pretty cool. I did have kind of a hard time with the Morning Pages at first. The Morning Pages are daily three-page writings that you do as soon as you wake up in the morning.  It’s supposed to be like a free write, but as  a writer, I found myself trying to think of topics to write about, which defeats the purpose of the exercise. After a couple days, I got over that though. The artist date was awesome! I’ve been interested in making jewelry. I even had my husband get me a bead making kit for our 2nd wedding anniversary. So for the artist date, I went to a bead store to pick out stuff. Let me back up for a minute. The artist date is time that you set aside BY YOURSELF every week to go to something artsy/creative like a museum exhibition, a poetry slam or something like that.

Anywho, I bought stuff at some bead stores and I made a bracelet! That’s it in the pic. It’s the first piece of jewelry I’ve ever made. It’s made of wood and turquoise with a sterling silver clasp. I like it! I’m gonna make more stuff this week. Would I have made the bracelet without the artist date? I don’t know, maybe. It’s quite possible that I would have procrastinated though, so I will say that the Artist’s Way process did produce a concrete benefit for me.

I’ll holla at you next Monday about Week Two!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2009 in Reading

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Artist’s Way: Week One

  1. Aubrey

    June 8, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Really cute bracelet! My mother is a big fan of the Artist Way, in fact I think she has about 2 or 3 copies of the book laying around her house. She’s is an artist is EVERY since of the word, she exhales creativity. Me being her daughter, of course I tried to go the exact opposite direction–but I can’t help it I guess I’m wired to be creative too! All of that to say, keep the Artist Way updates coming. I may have to borrow a copy of the book from my mom…or buy my own 🙂

     
  2. loveisdope

    June 8, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    Thanks! I made some adorable dangle earrings earlier today. 🙂 I’m working on technique and figuring out how to make stuff stay put. I’m also working on a novel, so I’m open to anything that might increase quality and productivity. Your mom sounds awesome! She also sounds like a great person to have for wedding planning. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
