RSS

20-Year-Old Me Talks To 30-Year-Old Me

11 Jun

thirty

My 30th birthday is right around the corner, so I figured it was time for 30-year-old me to talk to 20-year-old me. Enjoy.

30-Year-Old Me: Hey girl!

20-Year-Old-Me: Hey! You look great! I’m not really sure what I thought 30 would look like, but you really look great and I love your hair. It fits you.

30: Thanks, lady! I actually still get teenage holler. They know I’m older, but some of the bolder ones try anyway.

20: Nice! So, where do you live? What do you do? I see you have a wedding ring.

30: I’m not really sure how much I should tell you. I don’t want you to know everything. That would make life pretty boring. I will just say that I live in a very fun, lively city, I am doing your dream job and I am married. He’s a great guy!

20: You’re right, telling me everything would make stuff pretty uneventful. You must live in New York or L.A. I don’t see myself staying in Michigan and you have to be a writer. Are you a writer?

30: *Laughs* I so can’t tell you, but I will say that I’m happy and one of your city guesses is correct.

20: You’re a writer living in New York! I just know it. That’s hot! So, who do I marry? It’s not him is it?

30: Him? As in the guy you’re seeing right now?

20: Yeah, him.

30: I think you’re smart enough to know the answer to that. I will say though, that my (your) husband is a really good guy and your family loves him, but you’ll go through some pretty significant ups and downs with love by the time you’re me.

20: Oh, I see. That’s dope though that I’ll be a married writer living in New York. That’s the dream!

30: I’m not confirming or denying anything.

20: Okay, so he’s not it, but who is the guy? Do I meet him here in college? Have I already met him?

30: Girl, I am not telling you all that, but I will say that some of the people you have met in college will become and continue to be very good friends. Weddings, baby showers, other important events…you’ll do it all for your friends.

20: Wait, I know I’ll have a wedding, but a baby shower too?

30: I was talking about the events your friends will have that you will attend.

20: Oh. So, do you have a kid though? I don’t think so because you’re as skinny as me.

30: I’m not saying. I will tell you though that yoga can go a looong way.

20: Hmmm. Interesting. Well, will I do well on this essay?

30: I swear, I don’t even know what you’re talking about and if I did, I wouldn’t tell you anyway. The bottom line is this: After a while, nobody really cares about your grades in college, but in order to get to the next level you have to excel at the previous level, so you have to do well at everything. If you decide to do something, do it well no matter what is!

20: I’ll keep that in mind. So, If I’m not going to be with him, should I just end it now?

30: This is why I didn’t want to talk specifics. Every relationship you have is a learning experience and I mean every single one.  That’s all I’m gonna say about that. You will learn so much and become such a well-rounded person. I love you, but you will get even better.

20: Wow! I’m excited! You’re pretty awesome.

30: I’m so glad you think that!

20: Really? I’m just like a college kid.

30: Yeah, but your opinion matters. You’re the semi-innocent me. You’re the me with unfettered dreams.

20: Oh, does this mean I get older and start to doubt myself? If so, I will say again that I think you’re awesome and you can totally write a bangin’ novel.

30: Thanks! That means a lot to me.

20: No problem. You’ve given me a lot to think about. I guess I’ll just be observant and try my best at everything I do.

30: Bingo! I love you.

20: Ha! I love you too!

30: Okay, I’m gonna leave you with one last bit of advice. Put the lucite heels away. I know you think they are fun and sexy, but just put them away. Trust me.









 
16 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2009 in Love

 

Tags:

16 responses to “20-Year-Old Me Talks To 30-Year-Old Me

  1. Cherish

    June 11, 2009 at 11:18 am

    This is too cute!!!! Great post!

     
  2. loveisdope

    June 11, 2009 at 11:37 am

    LOL Thanks!

     
  3. Megan

    June 11, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    What in the hell is my baby cousin doing with lucite heels?

     
  4. natasha

    June 11, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    I love this! too cute!

     
  5. jbi

    June 11, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    very cute!

     
  6. loveisdope

    June 11, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    Thanks! Megan, my 20 (or maybe 21) year old self did heed the advice. I no longer have the lucite heels. I donated them! LOL If you see a homeless woman in Ann Arbor with some very fancy shoes on, you know were she got them. 🙂

     
  7. Maxine Taylor

    June 11, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Huh, I think those heels made it to Auntie’s house. :P! I love them and a won’t stop wearing them. I think I’m hot in these shoes. They are afterall – SHOES.
    Love you. Love the 20 year old you. Love the soon to be 30 year old you. Will love the 75 year old you trying to find those lucite heels you know you bought. 😉

     
  8. D to the G

    June 11, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    I love this article!! You are too creative! I’ve read it twice already. I wonder what my 30 year old self would say to the 20 year old D to the G!!

    I am sooooo glad the 20 year old left that dude and the lucite shoes…

    Love the 30 and 20 year old!!

    Tootles

     
  9. loveisdope

    June 11, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Aunt Maxine- I just might come by and borrow them back sometime!

    D to the G- WORD!

     
  10. Aunt Jane

    June 11, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    I’m so very proud of you!!
    When I count my blessings, I count you twice.

     
  11. Auntie Kitty

    June 11, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    Tell the 20 year old you to call Auntie Kitty. I’ll tell her whatever she wants to know…and you know this, maaaan!
    I’ll start with the fact that she doesn’t even answer to her name anymore.
    I love you both and the conversation.

     
  12. Nancy Taylor Collins

    June 14, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Hi Meeshna!

    I really enjoyed that article. You have been communicating and letting your needs known since birth. I am very happy you are happy with you. You make great choices and I absoltely love my son-in-law.

     
  13. Chuck

    June 16, 2009 at 1:17 am

    Id much rather be 30 than 20 and you just proved it.

     
  14. loveisdope

    June 17, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Thanks for all the kind words! 🙂

     
  15. MsKnowitAll

    June 22, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Very creative! I really enjoyed this.

     
  16. Chic Mommy

    August 12, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    LOL! That is too cute, creative and well-written. Very smart not to give up the goods ;-). I see why this post is getting so many hits!

     

Leave a Reply

 
