RSS

Good Reads Around The Web

21 Aug

HBCU2

One of my favorite writers discusses the perceived pros and cons of attending an HBCU on her blog, A Belle In Brooklyn. You must read the comments! Her readers are very passionate about the issue. My take? Get in where you fit in, homie. I did not attend an HBCU (though I spent A LOT of time at Morehouse during my college years when I was doing the long distance thing), but I think each person just has to find whatever works for him/her. Maybe that’s an HBCU. Maybe it’s not. Extreme arguments either way are pretty lame to me.

***

This is extra random. I was looking up information about the New York Transit Museum and I stumbled upon the name of Elizabeth Jennings Graham. She was that deal back in the 1800’s! Basically, she was the Rosa Parks of the 19th century for New York City. She even had a future president as her lawyer. There are so many incredible stories that are lost in history.

***

Shameless plug! Over on Get ‘Em Girls, I wrote about exes and how much who we are with influences our life’s path, even people who are not in our lives for too long. That can be for better or for worse. Head on over and tell your tale. I shared mine.

***

It’s been 20 years since the racially charged murder of Brooklyn teenager Yusef Hawkins. The New York Times takes a look back at that very low point in New York City history and fills in its readers on what key people from that incident are doing now. I forgot about Al Sharpton being stabbed in the chest.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2009 in Black History, Love

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Good Reads Around The Web

  1. Stephanie

    August 25, 2009 at 12:32 am

    You always have the best links. I really liked the link regarding Ms. Graham and completely agree that there a so many jewels that never see the light of day. Thanks for sharing & keep ’em coming!

     
  2. loveisdope

    August 25, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Glad you like the links! Yeah, there’s so much interesting history out there. It’s unfortunate that for the most part, we all are taught about the same handful of people in terms of black trail blazers and civil rights leaders.

     

Leave a Reply

 
