RSS

The Artist’s Way: Week 12 (Final Week)

26 Aug

rainbow

This is a rainbow I saw as hubby and I were leaving the wedding. Perfect!

And now it’s time to say good by to all my Artist’s Way friends. This is it, folks! I’ve completed all 12 weeks of The Artist’s Way. Went by kind of quickly, huh?Β  Before I do a general wrap-up, I’ll tell you about Week 12. I actually missed one day of Morning Pages. I know! The horror! I had to get up extra early to make an appointment and I just didn’t get to it. Bummer.Β  My artist date went really well though. Hubby and I went to a wedding in Connecticut that was at this GORGEOUS historic site. The land was dotted with handsome, historic, meticulously maintained 19th century buildings and there was also a lovely colorful garden. While hubby went to get a card (we were slackers and left the card at home) I was able to wind my way through the garden, taking in all the colors and fragrances. I also got to hang out in the gift store by myself. It had everything from books on 19th century housekeeping tips (The best ways to use ash for soap-making!) and delicate hat pins adorned with purple and green gem stones. I had a wonderful time on my artist date(s) and the wedding was awesome, unique and quirky…like the bride! πŸ™‚

Basically, I love the Artist’s Way! The Morning Pages were hard to do at times, but definitely worth it. For me, the Morning Pages let me release all the “stuff” that’s swirling around my brain and therefore makes room for new ideas and inspiration. Yoga, breakfast and Morning Pages are very important parts of my mornings. If I miss any of them, it stays with me through out the day.Β  After three months of daily Morning Pages, I only missed them twice. Not bad.

The artist dates have been wonderful, eye-opening and refreshing. It makes so much sense toΒ  consciously do something to feed your creative spirit. It’s good to feed the soul. I’ve visited museums, libraries, parks, craft stores and other fun places.Β  The reading and the tasks were very useful as well. I will definitely keep up with the Morning Pages and the artist dates. I don’t know if I will re-read the whole book anytime soon, but I just might go back and do some of the tasks I didn’t get around to the first time. Oh and the book is filled with great inspirational quotes! I have a calligraphy kit I haven’t used yet and I think I’m going to write out some of those quotes and put them on the walls in my home office.

There should be no expectations of high creative output during or immediately upon completion of The Artist’s Way, but I have been more productive. I have made jewelry, I’ve gotten into a pretty good rhythm with my novel-writing, I’ve made a few super cute home-decorating things and I’ve been networking more often. Those are all really important things and I don’t know that any of that would be the case had I not been taking action to nurture my creativity.

I have recommended The Artist’s Way to at least five people and so far, I know one person has actually bought the book and started the process. Now, I’m going to recommend that YOU give The Artist’s Way a try. Yes, YOU! You don’t have to read the book, quit your job and pursue your long held dream of becoming a Broadway superstar (though that’s fine too). You just need an open mind and spirit and be willing to indulge and nurture your creative side. Maybe you’ll finally get around to painting that back room or taking that piano class or whatever “it” is for you. No need to turn your life upside down,Β  just let it be more fun! πŸ˜‰

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2009 in Beauty/Fashion, Reading

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “The Artist’s Way: Week 12 (Final Week)

  1. The Jaded NYer

    August 26, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    I’m so glad this was a good experience for you.

    Like I said, I’m really excited about starting The Artist’s Way… once my girls come home and the school year begins and we’re back on a “schedule” I’m going to leap in.

    Thanks for reminding me they were collecting dust on my bookshelf!

     
  2. loveisdope

    August 27, 2009 at 12:05 am

    Cool! Yeah, give it a try! Hope you find it as enjoyable as I did. πŸ™‚

     
  3. Auntie Kitty

    August 27, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Who knew, when you were seven, that 23 years later you would inspire a sixty year old to remember her seven year old dream, and try it on again.
    Go on! Create! Find the next great thing to introduce me to!

     
  4. M. E. Wickham

    September 1, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Great wrap-up! Congrats on finishing and thanks for linking to your post and letting our cluster know you’re here. We’re just beginning our journey (we start week 3 tomorrow), but I’m enjoying it so much. I’ve actually done TAW once before, almost a decade ago, and I believe I’m getting even more out of it this time around.

    Can you believe the Morning Pages stuck with me all those years? You’re right, they are a meditative practice, similar in effect (or complimentary) to yoga. I hope you stick with them, too. I’m a convert, and I think the whole world should be doing Morning Pages!

     
  5. loveisdope

    September 1, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Will do, Aunt Kitty. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks, M.E. Wickham! That’s wonderful that you’ve stuck with the Morning Pages all these years. I’ve been recommending this process to anyone who’ll listen. πŸ™‚

     
  6. M. E. Wickham

    September 1, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Oops! I should’ve said I came over from my blog at http://oneswayingbeing.wordpress.com/. I think this profile was set up for my gardening blog – but that’s not where I’m following The Artist’s Way.

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment on The Artist’s Way journey page.

     

Leave a Reply

 
