RSS

Good Reads Around The Web

28 Aug

new-york-city

This story is equal parts hilarious and frightening. Allow Jozen to tell you a little story about his dating past. Dude is an awesome writer and a great storyteller.  His blog is all about his adventures in bachelorhood in NYC. Read this story and check out the rest of his posts too. It’s good stuff!
~Until I Get Married~


The New York Times takes on the topic of “good hair” and black women. It’s not the best article I’ve ever seen on this topic, but an interesting read nonetheless.
~New York Times~


I LOVE weddings! For those of you who like to drool at gorgeous wedding gowns too, New York Weddings has a whole slideshow full of them! Enjoy. 😉
~New York Weddings~


This might not be interesting to people who are not Michiganders, but this year may be the last Michigan State Fair! Did you know that? I’m really bummed about that. When I was a kid, going to the State Fair was definitely a highlight of the summer. I rode an elephant there. It’s the place that introduced me to the ecstasy that is fries and vinegar. I watched a pig go into labor. A camel licked my face. I got lollipops that were bigger than my head. As a city kid growing up in Detroit, I probably wouldn’t have experienced those things otherwise. As a teenager, the State Fair was the last big thing of the summer where I would run into my future classmates and walk around trying to be cute and know-it-all at the same time. I hope they figure out a way to save it.
~Detroit News~


This is one of those introspective and nakedly honest blog posts. The writer is a fab young woman who I have had the pleasure of meeting. She’s in her early 20’s and is basically just trying to figure out life post-college. This particular post asks about our high school selves. Who were you in high school? I went to a fairly small high school, so everyone at least knew everyone else’s face if not name. I was a smart kid and though I kinda rolled with a crew in school, most of my close friends went to other schools. I didn’t go to many parties hosted by my classmates either. There were guys who liked me and there were some boys I thought were cute, but I NEVER dated any of the guys at my high school. That was very intentional. I didn’t want the drama. All in all, I think people I went to school with would probably describe me as smart and kinda quiet.  What about you? Who were you in high school?
~Twenty-Something Renaissance~

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2009 in Beauty/Fashion, Detroit, Love

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Good Reads Around The Web

  1. robminx

    September 2, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Thanks for the heads up. I’ll check em out. Please feel free to stop by my Robminx blog and tell me what you think about the first two parts of my story Pimp Daddy in the Pulpit. I would really appreciate that. Your blog is great lady. Keep sharing, the world needs to hear your voice!

    Peace & happy reading,
    Robminx

     
  2. loveisdope

    September 3, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Thank you! I will check out your blog. Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

     

Leave a Reply

 
