RSS

Good Reads Around the Web

11 Dec

Oh how I love books! Check out Salon‘s list of best books of 2009. I keep hearing wonderful fabulous things about “The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao” by Junot Diaz, but I haven’t read it yet. I’m going to put it on my to-read list.
~Salon~

Once again, Rochelle Riley of the Detroit Free Press churns out a thought-provoking column. Read her impassioned plea to Detroiters to save the kids.
~Detroit Free Press~

Very long, but interesting piece about marriage. Follow one woman on her journey to make her marriage better by going to therapy.  Lots of detailed and brutally honest moments in this.
~New York Times~

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 11, 2009 in Detroit, Love, Reading

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Good Reads Around the Web

  1. The Jaded NYer

    December 11, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    Junot’s book is absolutely AMAZING! And if you haven’t read his book of short stories, Drown, I recommend you pick that one up, too.

    Thanks for these lists!

     
  2. loveisdope

    December 11, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    I will pick that up! Yet another one for my to-read list. Thanks! I’m trying to stick to my guns on checking out books from the library and only buying really good books. That philosophy has saved me a lot of money this year! No more mediocre books taking up real estate on my precious bookcases.

     
  3. naturallyalise1

    December 14, 2009 at 9:26 am

    I agree Junot Diaz is amazing, I absolutely loved Oscar Wao and Drown that JadedNyer mentioned. Happy reading!

     

Leave a Reply

 
