RSS

The Real Cost of Being Sick

19 Dec

When you work for yourself, you don’t have paid sick days. I’ve had to have my mouth assaulted by a (very nice and gentle) dentist in recent days and I will have to go back for more soon. *sigh* This sucks for several reasons of course, but it is especially awful as a freelance writer.

I can’t interview anyone in the condition I’m in right now, which means I had to turn away work I had already been assigned and pass on possible timely pitches. My face is swollen, which means I can’t/won’t go out anywhere. That means that I’m missing out on of the holiday parties and networking events that I was supposed to attend. Before my face blew up, I went to two holiday functions, but I’m missing out on no less than five other events.  That means no networking and networking is CRITICAL to the success of a freelance writer (and most other fields too).

Sooo, being sick has cost me current and future money AND it’s the holiday season, so we all plan to have a little more in the bank at this time of year. Booooooo!

The one good thing is that the dentist says I should be okay by Christmas time (maybe I can eat more than soup!), so I’ll have a little normalcy before I have to go back for more torture.

The moral of the story is, we need a public option for healthcare. Oh and when you work for yourself, it is especially important to have a decent amount of savings for times like this.

P.S. I have the best husband ever! He’s been doing an awesome job of taking care of me. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 19, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
