RSS

The Work

04 Mar

So, as may of you know, I’m working on the draft of my first novel.  Last night, I went to a writer’s workshop for alum of my university (Go Blue!) and it went pretty well. The other people there were all screenwriters, but I’m told the usual crew is a little more diverse work-wise. The workshop meets once a month. I’m not sure when I’ll share my novel draft (it’s almost done!), but I plan to use the workshop mainly for short story drafts. I want to enter short story competitions on a regular basis and I think this might be a good way to tighten them up.

It was also nice to bounce around the basic premise of my novel. I told them more than my husband knows at this point. Ha! I’m looking forward to the next workshop and I plan to have a complete short story draft in hand for that one.

Oh and this week has been awesome! Being a freelance writer can be very frustrating at times, but sometimes it’s just great. I can’t really complain about the fact that people pay me to talk to interesting people and attend cool events. 😉

Anywho, I feel pretty good about this whole writing thing at the moment.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 4, 2010 in Creativity, Writerly Things

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
