RSS

Happy Father’s Day!

20 Jun

You’re not gonna tell me “no” are you?

Hello Daddies and Daddy-like figures! I hope you’re enjoying your day! This day really and truly is for men who care for their biological children and men who take care of other children as if they were biological children.

I am fortunate to have a father who has been very involved in my life. He even did the single father thing for a while between my 13th birthday and when I left for college. Nothing like a father-daughter bond. Really! A Facebook friend asked people to share some of their fondest memories of their fathers and I shared mine, so I figured I would share it here too.

I HATED to be told “no.” Like, with a passion. I’m the youngest and I was just not at all comfortable with that awful, terrible two-letter word. My father was just as uncomfortable telling me “no” as I was hearing it. So, whenever I wanted something I couldn’t have, instead of saying “no,” he would say “Tomorrow, baby” and for some reason I was okay with that. No real concept of time at that age, I guess.  I just knew it wasn’t “no.” That became our little thing. Sometimes I would pick things up and say “Tomorrow, Daddy?” He’d always say “Yes.” 🙂

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2010 in Love

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Happy Father’s Day!

  1. Sibrina

    June 20, 2010 at 7:13 pm

    Really cute memory!

     
  2. Phyl4Real

    June 20, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    That ‘s a short and really sweet story.

     
  3. Uncle David

    June 21, 2010 at 12:12 am

    Awwww.

     
  4. D to the G

    June 21, 2010 at 9:37 am

    That’s an awesome story. Love it!!

     
  5. Luke

    June 24, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Love it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
