RSS

Business Card Inspiration

30 Jun

So, as you all know, I’m a freelance writer by day/night/every-waking-second-of-my-life, so networking is pretty critical for me.  In New York, there are 10,594,952 networking events taking place on any given night (Yep, I counted) and I’ve become pretty good at selecting worthwhile events. Well, last night I definitely picked the right one! I had the pleasure of attending Kitty Bradshaw’s event at the Apart showroom to celebrate the second year of her blog (her blogaversary, if you will).

It was crazy ridiculous FAB due to the fashion on the mannequins (which people won in a raffle), free manicures, free-flowing vodka, cupcakes, cheese and not to mention all of the very talented people in attendance. Oh and the gift bag? I’ll put it to you this way, this dress right here was just one of the things in the overflowing gift bag. Yeah, it was like that. All of that was wonderful of course, but for me, the business cards were the real stars.

That pic above shows just some of the cards I collected in the three hours that I attended Kitty Bradshaw’s event. The one that says “Hug a Farmer” is the backside of a card from Cabot (the cheese folks). Isn’t it cuuuute? So anywho, in about a month, I’ll be heading off to San Diego for the NABJ conference and I desperately need to re-up on my business cards. I have some, but I need more…and better ones.

Have you ever seen American Psycho? There’s a scene where all these Wall Street guys basically try to one-up eachother with their business cards and they actually discuss colors, textures and fonts. That’s me! I mean, I’m not trying to one-up anyone necessarily, but I do want dope business cards. The folks at last night’s event had all types of sizes, textures, colors and graphics. Definitely gave me some ideas. When I get my new cards, I will share their crisp loveliness with you all, dear readers.

Thanks for a great event, Kitty and all your sponsors!

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Business Card Inspiration

  1. Samantha

    June 30, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    This is the type of thing I need to be doing! NETWORKING! Getting better at networking!

     
  2. wallstreetwomom

    June 30, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    It was great to meet you last night, and I love your blog (sent over by The Jaded Nyer). I thought my gift bag was great but a dress.. That’s awesome.

     
  3. loveisdope

    June 30, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Hi Samantha! Yes, networking is super important. Get out there! 🙂

    Hey Wall Street! Nice meeting you too! There wasn’t a dress in every bag? Ooooh, I guess I lucked up. 🙂

     
  4. Kim Porter

    June 30, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    hey! Great post. I t was nice meeting you last night too

     
  5. loveisdope

    July 2, 2010 at 9:47 am

    Nice meeting you Kim! Lots of great energy in the room.

     
  6. o.m.o. writes

    July 11, 2010 at 12:46 am

    aww my card didn’t make it to the photo opp! hahha

    so great meetign you girlie! best of luck with everything!!
    s
    x

     
  7. loveisdope

    July 11, 2010 at 9:54 am

    You didn’t have any more cards by the time I met you! I had to find you on Twitter. 🙂

    Good meeting you too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
