RSS

Damn, That Was Quick

23 Aug

My beloved (to me anyway) book column on Madame Noire is no more. Like Drake, I hope you’ll miss me a little.  In the mean time, I’ll still be contributing to Madame Noire, I just won’t have a book column and keep your eyes peeled for where my book column will land. It will land somewhere. Working on that right now. (Oh and that “Getting To Happy” review is fa sho gonna be online before the September 7 release date.) Even though it was only a month or so that I had my book column, I came to love it on a rather intense level. I devour books on a regular basis and it makes sense to me to get paid (and get free books!) to do what I love. Right?

In honor of my short-lived, but totally awesome book column, I’ve listed a few of my favorite reviews below. Hope you enjoy.

“32 Candles” by Ernessa T. Carter
-My favorite book so far this year.

“Substitute Me” by Lori Tharps
-When/if this book becomes a movie, I need Joe Manganiello (Alcide on “True Blood”) to play Brad Carter. Yessir!

“Till You Hear From Me” by Pearl Cleage
-I did not like this book, but my line about Dr. Claw in this review is priceless.

“Raised By The Mistress” by Jamilah Creekmur
-Painfully honest stuff in this one. Page turner.

“Eat Pray Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert
-Lots of folks found this book to be vapid, whiny and annoying, but I actually liked it.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2010 in Reading

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Damn, That Was Quick

  1. Auntie Kitty

    August 23, 2010 at 9:11 am

    Everything is in divine order. I can’t wait to see what this opening fills up with.

     
  2. loveisdope

    August 23, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Yop.

     
  3. Tiffany Alexander

    August 24, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    So sorry to see your column go away, but you are quite talented, and new doors will open. Keep us posted.

     

Leave a Reply

 
