RSS

I’m Going to Go See It, But…

11 Oct

According to Deadline, one of my fav romantic comedies The Best Man has a sequel in the works. The adorable 1999 film, directed by Malcolm Lee, starred THE black actors of the 90s/early 2000’s films–Morris Chestnut, Nia Long, Sanaa Lathan and Taye Diggs. You’ll be hard pressed to find a “classic” black rom-com from that era that doesn’t feature one of those actors. Also featured in The Best Man was Terrence Howard who at that time was a scene stealer as opposed to a leading man. “Yeah n*gga, you think you slick.” Comedy.

Supposedly the idea for the sequel was sparked by a reunion dinner the cast had earlier this year. Word is that all of the original actors are down for a sequel. Le sigh.

The Best Man is just not the kind of movie that needs a sequel. I like the ending just how it is. Let’s go with doing the electric slide in perpetuity. In my head, the characters live on in some fictional nether world where things just happen as they should.

All that said, I will totally go to the theaters to see this because I think Malcolm Lee will do a good job making a fun, engaging movie. I’d just prefer an entirely new movie to a sequel. Let’s see some real creativity!

Will you go see this movie? Do you think the or

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2011 in Entertainment

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “I’m Going to Go See It, But…

  1. Tiffany Alexander

    October 11, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    I’m with you. I’ll watch it, but I would rather see some new, fresh material being produced.

     
  2. Janel

    October 11, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    I agree, an all new movie would be better! You’re blogging again! Yayy

     
  3. Diva (in Demand)

    October 12, 2011 at 9:46 am

    Normally I’d ignore this announcment and just hold on to the good memories of the original….but knowing that Malcolm Lee is in charge gives me hope. I don’t think he’ll want his name or the original movie attached to any foolishness.

     

Leave a Reply

 
