RSS

I Miss Her

22 Feb

I took for granted that I would see Whitney Houston with greying temples commanding the stage as an elegantly dressed septuagenarian. It was a no-brainer that I would hear her unique, textured speaking voice in an interview as she made witty and slightly irreverent  jokes while she bounced a fat, happy grandbaby on her lap and hummed a lullaby on the fly. I just knew she would sing at the (far in the future) funeral for Aretha Franklin.

But that’s not how things happened.

Given the troubles she’s had over the past decade or two, it’s not exactly surprising that Whitney Houston died young, but my goodness it hurt. And I’m just a fan, we’re not even related. Never met the woman. Never saw her perform live.

When I read that she died, I somehow felt like I lost something/someone. Almost like she was some crazy, beautiful, distant relative I didn’t get to talk to enough and she died before I got to tell her how much she meant to me and how awesome she was.

I miss her.

I got chills when I read about her untimely demise and I’ve cried several times since then when I watched old interviews that showcased her bubbly personality or videos where she was so full of life and energy and passion.

She should be here.

And can we talk about that voice? Oh, the voice. She could go from the church to the project stairwell to the top of the pop charts in one note. Babygirl had an undeniable gift.

Drugs are terrible.

If there is something to learn from Whitney Houston’s death it is about how important it is to take care of yourself. It’s literally a matter of life and death. Any poison in your life–whether that is a person, a drug, a lack of adequate sleep or poor dental health–needs to be eradicated. Pronto.

Be good to you.

I wish nothing but peace, stability and happiness for Ms. Houston’s daughter. You have millions of cheerleaders, young lady.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2012 in Living

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “I Miss Her

  1. Malicia

    February 22, 2012 at 10:12 am

    “Didn’t we almost have it all?” Well almost…just almost Whitney. You were missing that one thing, whatever it was to make you feel complete. The one thing to make you feel like you didn’t need drugs to feel powerful or console you or feel some empty void you were seeking. We were all praying Bobbi Kristina would be your sunshine after the rain. That motivational driving force to stay clean and continue to grace stages across the world. Some may never understand your plight but in the end we all understand the greatness you left behind.

     
  2. lalabee79

    February 22, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    The opening paragraph just made it so much more real. The fact we will never see THAT Whitney just made me sad again. Great post!

     
  3. loveisdope

    February 23, 2012 at 12:10 am

    Thank you for your comments, ladies! I really appreciate it. And boy do I miss that voice and that smile. Le sigh.

     

Leave a Reply

 
