RSS

Evicting the Housewives

26 Jun

I’ve written before about my disdain for all the grown-up bullying on these “reality” shows full of catty immature women, but I kept watching the shows. Part of the reason was because I write about pop culture and love it or hate it, reality television is a big part of pop culture today.  It’s hard to write about the stuff if you don’t watch it. But also, I watched it because I too was sucked into the train wreckyness of it all. Sometimes you want to feel morally superior and you can certainly do that when you watch 40-year-olds fight about Twitter comments or hide rotting fish in another grown person’s hotel room just for fun.

But after viewing the first episode of Love and Hip Hop Atlanta, I made the decision to ditch all those types of shows. It’s not that it was much different than any of the other “wives” shows. In fact, I think Mona Scott Young is very smart and the show is beautifully shot. It has the slick look of a scripted drama.  For me, it was just a realization that I was wasting two or three hours a week on that stuff.  Sure, not watching them means I have to turn down certain assignments, but I can definitely make up for that with other work.

Plus, I could use that time for more productive things like…well anything. Cleaning out the litter box, washing dishes, making a to-do list, anything. You know what I did instead of watching the second episode of Love and Hip Hop Atlanta? I made a delicious dinner of lemon baked cod, fresh salad and ice cream and raspberries for dessert. Much, much better use of my time.

So, Love and Hip Hop, Real Housewives, Basketball Wives…all those shows have been evicted from my television. So far, I haven’t even been tempted to look at recaps. I still have my guilty pleasure tv though, I just prefer the kind that doesn’t make me feel sad for the children after I watch it.

You might stone me for this, but I really like Single Ladies! It’s super goofy, fun and it does not pretend to be anything deep or riveting. People harp on the writing and acting, but some of those one-liners from Lisa Raye McCoy are pretty funny. It’s harmless and I laugh a lot. I’ll stick it with it. But really, I’m just counting down the days until Scandal comes back. LOVE that show!

So, my tv is pretty balanced now without all that crap weighing it down. And I’m not someone who thinks shows like that make all black women look bad. But it does create national conversations about dumb shit that is not actually an issue outside of those edited, “reality” circles. Never in my life have I gone to dinner with girlfriends and someone jumped on a table or chucked a bottle at someone. Your average real-life grown up does not do that. I promise.

Boycotts pop up all the time for these shows now, but that does no good and I’m not for boycotts of tv shows anyway. If you don’t like something, don’t watch it. If someone else wants to watch it, that’s their business.  I will gladly share my opinion, but I won’t tell you want you should or should not watch.

I just don’t need that stuff cluttering up my head and forcing me to think about problems that impact basic people. I have more important or at least more positive or productive things to do.

What’s your opinion of all the “wives” shows? Guilty pleasure? Humanity killer? Who cares?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2012 in Entertainment, TV

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Evicting the Housewives

  1. lalabee79

    June 26, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    I had this EXACT. CONVERSATION with my friend today. I, too, am done with these shows

     
  2. loveisdope

    June 26, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    Mmmhmmm. These shows will die off. It’s inevitable.

     
  3. thejadednyer

    June 26, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    I do indulge in the ATL Housewives but that’s it, and I don’t even think I’ll be watching if there’s another season. After a while the novelty wears off and these women begin to believe their own hype. That’s when I know it’s time to walk away.

    Now, if only I can evict those damn Kardashians from my life…their shows suck me in EVERY. DAMN. TIME! kik

     
  4. loveisdope

    June 27, 2012 at 12:43 am

    I’ve never watched that show. I do see clips of it on The Soup though. LOL

     
  5. theurbanwhim

    December 24, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    I’ve written about my own annoyance with these type of shoes but I acknowledge the fact that a lot of us watch them as a source of entertainment. To each his own but the stereotypical, repetitive images do get old.

     

Leave a Reply

 
