RSS

Artist’s Way2: Week 1

13 Apr
Artist’s Way2: Week 1

 

This was my favorite dress from the Stephen Burrows exhibit at the Museum of the City of New York. This is me.

This was my favorite dress from the Stephen Burrows exhibit at the Museum of the City of New York. This is me.

 

*NOTE: I was hella supposed to post this last Monday, but got super busy. Apologies. Week 2 and on will be recapped on Mondays.  You can follow my current Artist’s Way journey by putting “Artist’s Way2” into the search box.

 

Whew! Back in the saddle. So, this first week of The Artist’s Way is about recovering and protecting your inner artist child. I think I did pretty well. I missed one day of Morning Pages (due to poor planning on my part) and when I journal later in the day, I don’t count that as Morning Pages. But otherwise, I kept up with everything.

It feels really good to get the Morning Pages done and get my feelings out. Interesting to see what is rattling around in my head.  For my Artist Date, I went to the Museum of the City of New York for the Stephen Burrows exhibit. Oh. My. Yes to all of that! Burrows is a powerhouse fashion designer who is perhaps best known for his work in the Studio 54 era. His clothes move. They have an energy. In fact, the exhibit is called “Stephen Burrows: When Fashion Danced.” 

Hunty, it was everything! The exhibit focused on his work from the late 60s to early 80s and I swear on everything, I would wear 80% of the clothes in that exhibit. I am made to wear Stephen Burrows designs. No ifs, ands or buts about it.  I’ve always said that I have a 1970s body–lithe, on the itty bitty committee, long legs. (I was born in 1979, so this kind of makes sense.) But beyond the body shape thing, I just really loved his work. Beautiful. Stunning.

I left there feeling inspired to dig into my own creativity a bit more and I suppose that was the whole point, no? Probably the toughest thing for me in this first week was getting a handle on the tasks. Of course I waited until the last minute to zoom through four of them. Week 2 will be (has been) more deliberate and paced in that regard. I am glad that I did four of them though. My goal is to complete at least three tasks each week.

The other great thing about diving into this process again is reading all of the inspirational quotes that Julia Cameron peppers through out the book. That has inspired to get back on my calligraphy practice and write out some of my favorites. Might post them on my wall.  See! The Artist’s Way is already inspiring more creative output and this is just Week 1.

.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2013 in Beauty/Fashion, Creativity

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Artist’s Way2: Week 1

  1. Heather

    April 15, 2013 at 10:57 am

    Lovin’ those clothes! I’m on my 2nd day of morning pages/first week. Good to know week 1 was inspiring for you.

     
  2. Demetria Irwin

    April 15, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    That’s so awesome that you are just digging into Week 1. It’s a great ride. This is my second time going through the process and it is nothing less than amazing. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment! 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
