RSS

Artist’s Way 3: Week 2

14 Apr
Artist’s Way 3: Week 2
My view during my run/Artist Date.

My view during my run/Artist Date.

Week 2 focuses on recovering a sense of identity. My girl Julia goes all the way IN with this chapter. Here’s an excerpt where she talks about having “crazymakers” in your life, essentially the folks who always manage to suck away all of your energy creative and otherwise:

Crazymakers discount your reality. No matter how important your deadline or how critical your work trajectory at the moment, crazy makers will violate your needs. They may act as though they hear your boundaries and will respect them, but in practice act is the operative word. Crazymakers are the people who call you at midnight or 6:00 am saying, “I know you asked me not to call you at this time, but…”

Yes, Julia, yes! I most certainly had a crazymaker in my life a while ago and I’m so glad I let that go. Good riddance to drama. But here is my absolute favorite quote from this week:

The quality of life is always in proportion, always to the capacity for delight. The capacity for delight is the gift of paying attention.

She’s basically saying that even when life seems to be piling on every possible miserable thing, focus on the good stuff. Appreciate the little things. FIND THOSE LITTLE THINGS.

For this week’s Artist Date, I went for a walk/run along the Hudson River and it was great. Just a bit before sunset and it was a beautiful night–70 something degrees. Just me, the sun, the river and my music. It was an Outkast mix by the way. Got in some good people-watching of course and got to notice nature showing all the way out with different little creations along the path.  Good week!

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 14, 2014 in Creativity

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
